History of Junior High Boy's Basketball in Putnam County 1936 - 2024

Organized, Junior High basketball has been played in Putnam County since at least 1936. From 1936 to 1965, boys from the 7th, 8th and 9th grades were combined to play on one team. In 1966, the Ohio High School Athletic Association. legislated that the 9th graders would be combined with high school students, or grades 10-12. The 7th and 8th graders would be treated separately. As a result, from 1966 to today, the 9th Grade PCLT includes only 9th graders and schools from Putnam County. The tournament site is alphabetically rotated each year.

In the late 1950's through the mid 1970's, schools in Putnam County started to have individual 7th & 8th grade teams playing interscholastically. However, the season ending tournaments at this level were combination teams from all three grades until 1966. The Junior High tournaments in Putnam County from 1936 - 1940 were invitational tournaments Delphos St. Johns won the first invitational in 1936. There is no evidence of a tournament in 1941 probably because of World War II. Beginning in 1942, the Junior High tournaments included only Putnam County teams. In 1960, Pandora hosted a tournament in which 7th and 8th graders were put on one team. Miller City won that tournament. From that point on, there were a few invitational tournaments for the 7th and 8th graders run by various organizations such as the Knights of Columbus, CYO and Ottawa SPPS.

Fort Jenning's High School started a Junior High tournament in 1975 in which only 8th graders would play. In 1988, the Putnam County League formed two tournaments, one for 7th graders and one for 8th graders, in which any Putnam County school could enter. This format is still used today and the tournament is randomly rotated between the PCL schools.

1996

1997

Leipsic

Fort Jennings

Team of 7th, 8th & 9th Graders **PCT & PCLT Winners**

Year	School	Year	School
1936	Delphos St. Johns	1951	Columbus Grove
1937	Middle Point	1952	Columbus Grove
1938	Unknown	1953	Kalida
1939	Delphos Jefferson	1954	Miller City
1940	Columbus Grove	1955	Glandorf
1941	Unknown	1956	Columbus Grove
1942	Leipsic	1957	Leipsic
1943	Pandora	1958	Fort Jennings
1944	Miller City	1959	Columbus Grove
1945	Miller City	1960	Columbus Grove
1946	Blanchard	1961	Continental
1947	Columbus Grove	1962	Ottoville
1948	Ottawa SPPS	1963	Ottoville
1949	Columbus Grove	1964	Miller City
1950	Columbus Grove	1965	Ottawa-Glandorf

In 2008 there was no 9th Grade PCL Tournament since league policy dictates that there must be a minimum of four participating teams. This was the first time since 1936 that there was no tournament, a streak of 72 consecutive years.

winners (over	tne	Past 89	Y ears
nchard		1	Leipsic	

***************************************	O TOI UII	crust o> reur	
Blanchard	1	Leipsic	8
Columbus Grove	13	Middle Point	1
Continental	7	Miller City	10
Delphos Jefferson	1	Ottawa-Glandorf	1
Delphos St. Johns	1	Ottawa SPPS	1
Fort Jennings	8	Ottoville	13
Glandorf	1	Pandora	1
Kalida	12	Pandora-Gilboa	1

Team of only 9th Graders PCLT Winners

1 CL1 Williers					
Year	School		Year	School	
1966	Ottoville		1998	Fort Jennings	
1967	Continental		1999	Miller City	
1968	Continental		2000	Miller City	
1969	Columbus Grove		2001	Leipsic	
1970	Ottoville		2002	Kalida	
1971	Continental		2003	Kalida	
1972	Leipsic		2004	Fort Jennings	
1973	Kalida		2005	Pandora-Gilboa	
1974	Ottoville		2006	Leipsic	
1975	Ottoville		2007	Miller City	
1976	Ottoville		2008	NO TOURNAMENT	
1977	Kalida		2009	Kalida	
1978	Fort Jennings		2010	NO TOURNAMENT	
1979	Fort Jennings		2011	Miller City	
1980	Ottoville		2012	NO TOURNAMENT	
1981	Ottoville		2013	Kalida	
1982	Ottoville		2014	Leipsic	
1983	Continental		2015	NO TOURNAMENT	
1984	Fort Jennings		2016	Kalida	
1985	Leipsic		2017	Columbus Grove	
1986	Continental		2018	Ottoville	
1987	Kalida		2019	NO TOURNAMENT	
1988	Kalida		2020	NO TOURNAMENT	
1989	Miller City		2021	NO TOURNAMENT	
1990	Ottoville		2022	Ottoville	
1991	Miller City		2023	Kalida	
1992	Continental		2024	Columbus Grove	
1993	Columbus Grove				
1994	Fort Jennings				
1995	Kalida				